O’ Captain! My Captain!

Today, I awoke to the news Robin Williams had died. Wishing for it to be a social media hoax, I waited for more developments on the story before commenting. With the confirmation via a statement made by his wife, Susan Schneider, this sombre Monday evening is now spent watching clips of his work and reading up on the man that has given so much of his passion to the world.

My earliest memories of Robin Williams was in the movie Jumanji. The jungle coming alive right in your living room is every child’s fantasy! And while we’re on the subject of childhood wonder, what about the enchanting Genie, Flubber and as *sings* Popeye, the sailor man! Whoo whoo!.

He was an accomplished comedian, but I personally prefer his “serious” movies. He made me question humanity and the way we treat others in Patch Adams and A.I. Artificial Intelligence. He “majorly” gave me the creeps in Photo Booth.

BUT…all that aside…

My favorite Robin Williams movie will always be The Dead Poets Society. We watched this movie in English class and I remember getting goosebumps when he whispered the words “Carpe Diem. Sieze the day. Make your lives extraordinary.”

..”Make your lives extraordinary.” That is exactly what Robin did. He not only lived an extra ordinary life, but he also shared his magic with everyone who has seen his work.

True to his nature, he also openly shared his struggles with addiction and severe depression in his later years.

Dear Robin Williams, may you find peace in heaven and may your soul be light without any worldly troubles. Thank you for sharing your magic till the very end. I will look at your movies and smile, and be grateful that you have taught me to question and to believe. To look at the world from a different point of view.

To create my own verse.

To stand up on the desk and not be a sheeple.

Last but never least, here’s a perfect sendoff to an extraordinary man. We salute you.

Leave a Reply

